The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 23, 2015, 09:08 PM   #1
Texas Southpaw

RCBS pardner kit opinions?

Hey guys, I saw a RCBS pardner kit ( RCBS #87469) at my local big box store on clearance for $140. I'm new to reloading and was wondering if it was worth picking up? I know I need dies, powder, etc but I was wondering if that's a reasonable price for that kit. I shoot approximately 2 times a month and would only be reloading for .308 maybe 500 rounds a year maximum. Thoughts? Thanks
Old December 23, 2015, 10:15 PM   #2
condor bravo

With the Partner kit you are lacking, I believe, a powder measure, meaning you would be weighing each charge but maybe that would be your preference anyway. There's always that argument between weighing and measuring. Does weighing make that much difference in overall accuracy? No doubt most will say yes it does. But back to a kit and considering an RCBS, probably many would prefer you to upgrade to something like the Rock Chucker Supreme but of course that more than doubles the price of the Partner kit. But I'm not aware if the Rock Chucker press is that much of an advantage over the Partner press except that my guess is that the Partner press comes with an aluminum frame while the Rock Chucker is the heavier and more preferable cast iron, giving the appearance of being more solid. I would select the Rock Chucker. It also seems that the Partner press has 3.75" ram clearance while the Rock Chucker has a better 4.0" clearance. But the Partner kit will get you going and at the right price. And of course there are other kits out there as others will suggest.

Last edited by condor bravo; December 23, 2015 at 11:11 PM.
Old December 23, 2015, 10:29 PM   #3
4runnerman