The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old December 10, 2009, 03:28 PM   #1
ryanscott

hunting question

Ok i have a question since i often hunt on public land. If you are hunting around guys you do not know and someone shoots a deer, the deer then runs in front of you, you shoot the deer thinking he missed and you drop the deer. whose deer is it saying that his shot was fatal and would have killed the deer?
Old December 10, 2009, 03:43 PM   #2
jimbob86

I try not to hunt near anyone else, but that is getting harder by the year....

..... where I hunt, there are plenty of deer, so I'd give it to him, so I could keep hunting.
Old December 10, 2009, 03:45 PM   #3
ryanscott

Thanks for the reply but i was more wondering whose deer it is supposed to be. like legally i guess i will call it.
Old December 10, 2009, 03:48 PM   #4
jimbob86

I am not a Lawyer, and don't see a need for one in this case: tell him, "Nice Deer! Need help draggin'?" , cuz the sooner you get it out of there, the sooner you get back to hunting.
Old December 10, 2009, 03:56 PM   #5
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Ok i have a question since i often hunt on public land. If you are hunting around guys you do not know and someone shoots a deer, the deer then runs in front of you, you shoot the deer thinking he missed and you drop the deer. whose deer is it saying that his shot was fatal and would have killed the deer?

I've always been told, including in hunter safety training, that he who makes the first "obvious" fatal shot gets the deer. It seems like the most logical thing.

Example:

1)He shoots it through the heart, 100 yards later you do the same. His deer.

2)He shoots, hitting it in the guts, 100 yards later you shoot it through the heart. Your deer.

The problem that crops up is in proving who hit it where. Sometimes you might shoot it on opposite sides and not have exits, which would prove it but other times it might not be so obvious.