The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 8, 2005, 03:50 PM   #1
drdirk

308 advice - hunting / reloading

I am new to rifle caliber reloading, only reloaded pistol so far. I have a remington 700 and am looking for advice on a good general purpose hunting bullet, powder combination. I plan on going up to ME for deer hunting and expect to have no more than 200 yard shots. Any advice is welcome. I am also about to order reloading dies, probably RCBS because this is what I am used to on my single stage RCBS press. Is this ok? Or would some of you guys suggest something different. Again, I have never reloaded anything but .45 acp/ 9mm /45 Colt so any advice on what else I should get to make reloading better would be great. Thanks to this forum I have had great advice on my early reloading questions. Not sure I would have been able to do it without you guys. Thanks for any advice.
Old October 8, 2005, 05:39 PM   #2
Swamp Yankee

Lots of good stuff for the 308

Varget, Reloader 15 and WW748 are three powders that I can recommend from experience in the 308. As to bullets, 165 grain Nosler Partions or Speer Grand Slams should work well.
As to dies, the RCBS sets are just fine, but I would recommend losing the RCBS lock rings and replacing with either Lyman, Hornady or Redding lock rings.

Take Care
Old October 8, 2005, 07:19 PM   #3
LHB1

For deer hunting at 200 yds or less with .308, almost any 130-165 gr bullet would suffice. My choice would be a 150 gr Nosler Ballistic Tip on top of H4895. Varget also looks good but have never tried it personally.

Good shooting and be safe.
LB
Old October 8, 2005, 09:01 PM   #4
T. O'Heir