The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old February 14, 2011, 11:36 PM   #1
kameron454ci

45 colt cost

wow i went to dick's sporting goods today $50 for a box of ultramax 45lc 255gr I'm glad I started reloading $50 pays for 1,000 primers and a pound of powder
Old February 15, 2011, 09:21 AM   #2
jmortimer

"I'm glad I started reloading"
You and me both. Once you get set up you start saving $$$.
Old February 15, 2011, 09:43 AM   #3
twobit

To me, reloading for my 45 Colt Peacemaker clone is almost as much fun as shooting it. I now have two loads for the gun;
*PLINKING LOAD: a 200 gr. RNFP hard cast with 6.5 grains of Trail boss.
*CARRY LOAD: a 250 gr. Speer Deep Curl JHP with 7.6 grains of Unique.
Old February 15, 2011, 09:55 AM   #4
Fiv3

Part of the reason I started shooting black powder was simply due to the fact that I wanted a .45 revolver, but I didn't NEED one. I don't have the time or space to reload ammo. However, I like the big ol' holes a .45 makes on paper. I didn't like the price of .45 Colt ammo for a gun that was primarily for fun.

Enter Holy Black Lotta smoke/flash/boom for very little cash. Now that I'm set up for casting, I'll only be out the cost of powder and caps which I can get locally (no hazmat charge).

I do plan on getting into reloading one day. I like shooting more calibers than 9mm and .22 However, for my needs these days, a couple hours with a melting pot is about all I can muster.
Old February 15, 2011, 10:16 AM   #5
Hardcase

Amen to that, fellas! It almost (almost) makes me reconsider my personal crusade against adding any new calibers to my collection! One of these days, I'll probably crack...I keep looking at those .45 Colt conversion cylinders...
Old February 15, 2011, 11:16 AM   #6
jcsturgeon

When they have it in stock Ultramax 250 gr round nose, flat points is about $34. Still pricey, but not too bad, same price for Blazers.