The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 26, 2008, 04:25 PM   #1
The Meatman

Advice for the novice?

So my boss called the other day and is giving me a nice year end bonus. I thought about buying another gun (.45) but I got checking ammo prices and remembered all the reloads I've shot with my dad. I have no previous experience with reloading (I did however read the newbie thread here.) My question is, should I buy a kit, or individual pieces? My dad sent my an RCBS powder measure awhile back, but I've seen Lee kits that come with them. Also I'm curious about the durability of some presses in an area with high moisture. I live in Alabama and most likely would end up with my bench in my outside metal shed. Would the presses rust? I would obviously keep the powder and primers indoors, but not sure about the presses, and brass. Thanks for any advice.
~Dave~
"Are you guys ready? Let's Roll" Todd Beamer, Flight 93.
Old December 26, 2008, 04:37 PM   #2
sserdlihc

I have used a Lee kit now for the past 6 years.It is a single stage press. I have enjoyed using it. When I got my kit, it came with a beam scale. I didn't have much luck with it. It to me was hard to read. So, I got one of RCBS digital scales. Everything was good to go from that point. I use the Lee Perfect Powder measure that came with my kit. However, a friend of mine has an RCBS and it is easier to calibrate than my Lee.
Old December 26, 2008, 06:41 PM   #3
sourdough44

If you don't have one why not get a current reloading manual & read/ look it over good. It's a way to ease into it & most have good instruction & procedures chapters. One idea is to get one who's bullets you are partial too. In that reguard I like Sierra, but Lyman,Hornaday, Lee are very fine.
Old December 26, 2008, 07:34 PM   #4
The Meatman