The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old July 17, 2011, 05:24 PM   #1
cjwils

A new reason to be paranoid?

I had two experiences recently that disturbed me. I was the successful high bidder on two antique revolvers on an internet auction site. The auctions were about a week apart. These guns are definite antiques, made well before 1899, and each costing about $400.

After the first auction, I went to the post office to get a money order to send to the seller, and I was basically interrogated by the postal clerk, who asked what I was buying. I told him I was buying an antique, but he wanted to know what kind of antique. I admit that I am not very good at being devious on the spur of the moment, so I went ahead and told him I was buying an antique firearm, with emphasis on "antique." He stopped questioning me, and processed the money order. But I was unsettled by what had happened.

A week later, after I won the other auction, I decided to get a cashier's check from the bank, so I would not run the risk of seeing the same postal clerk again. This time, I was more or less interrogated by the bank teller. First, I was asked what I was buying. I responded by saying it was an antique. Again, I was asked what kind of antique. This time, I was better prepared, and I said it was a nicknack to hang on the wall. The questioning stopped with that.

What is going on? Did those clerks simply make bad attempts to seem friendly? Or is there some reason why a modest $400 transaction is being questioned? Is there any reason to be worried about sending money for a legal firearms transaction?
Old July 17, 2011, 05:28 PM   #2
alloy

Over a 400 dollar money order? I've sent alot since Ebay sellers etc request them alot, larger and smaller never been asked a thing whatsoever even hinting at what the MO was for...seems totally out of bounds.

Cashier checks tho, my bank does want to type in the name of the payee.