The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old June 6, 2005, 05:46 PM   #1
Diggers

20 gauge or 12

Hi everyone,

Im just getting into the shotgun sports, trap and 5 stand. I also plan to do some bird hunting.

I am leaning toward getting a 20 gauge o/u for this, for no other reason than I like the idea of the 20 gauge. ( I also like fishing with 3 and 4 weight flyrods for you flyfishing types)

Is there any reason why I should get a 12 gauge and leave the 20 for later?

Thanks for the input.
-D
Old June 6, 2005, 05:48 PM   #2
jonathon

Heres my reasoning for getting a 12 guage:

1) having universal ammo.. I have a bit of a budget when it comes to ammo, and I prefer not to have several guns for the same job

2) the other uses that a 12 guage will have

Now, if you had only a 20 guage, I would say go for it

If I had the extra money to blow on another shotgun(a good one) and could spare the ammo cost, I wouldn't mind a 20.

Part of it is personal preference.. and shooting clays it won't really matter..
Romans 12:21

Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good

More CZ M52 info than you can shake a stick at!
Old June 6, 2005, 06:00 PM   #3
Dave R

The 12 ga. is more versatile in that you can run light loads that are about the same as 20ga loads through it, but you can also run full-power 12ga. loads through it.

Most competitors shoot 12's so they can have more lead in their patterns than a 20 would allow. Most hunters use a 12 for the same reason.

The 20 ga, on the other hand, should be lighter. If you are hunting upland burds, where you'll be walking long distances, you may enjoy the lighter weight. But some 20's are the same weight as 12's, so you gain nothing. If you get a 20, watch the weight.
Old June 6, 2005, 06:05 PM   #4
kudu

Just get a 28 gauge and be done with it.