The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old July 19, 2005, 08:34 PM   #1
generallobster

the largest caliber you can handle

I'm quite new to shooting, and I have often heard on this forum that the best caliber in the "which caliber is best" threads, is the one that you can reliably hit the target with. True, but what is the distance that one should use to judge whether they can reliably hit the target? It was my second time at the range yesterday, and I found that with 38's out of a snub I could get shots to land in a 5-6inch circle reliably--shooting single action. Switching over to full magnums and I could only reliably hit the paper target, which was much larger than 6 inches. Now in a defensive situation, I doubt one even has the chance to aim, but this is of-set by attackers probably being closer than 25 feet (and larger than 6inches). I'm sure I could sqeeze the trigger five times with 180gr magnums, but whether I could hit the target depends on how far away it is. So my question is, what do you use to judge whether or not you can comfortably handle a specific caliber.
Old July 19, 2005, 08:45 PM   #2
JohnKSa
Staff

Sounds like you've got a pretty good handle on it already.

BTW, there's quite a range of loads available between full magnums and standard pressure .38 spl

Just don't push yourself too hard for speed or power. You're better off hitting than missing.

As you get better you can step up the speed and power.
Old July 19, 2005, 09:04 PM   #3
chris in va

Most defensive situations (I understand) are within 20' or so. If you can put a few shots in that same 6" circle in a couple seconds regardless of caliber, you're set.

Magnums kick a LOT as you found out. Most of the other calibers won't buck like that, 9mm/40/45 so try out a few more. There's nothing wrong at all with some +P 38's since they are much milder.
Old July 19, 2005, 10:28 PM   #4
Double Naught Spy

Quote: