The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old May 8, 2008, 04:18 PM   #1
GunCrazyinGA

looking for a shotgun for home defense

I am new to the shotgun scene. I have a few handguns and a Rock River Arms AR-15, but I am looking a good, reliable shotgun, in either a pump or semi. I need some help to figure out which would be a good one to go with.
Old May 8, 2008, 04:30 PM   #2
Zombie Steve

You can't go wrong with a Mossberg 500 / 590 or a Remington 870. There's a ton of variants and aftermarket products should you decide to customize...
Old May 8, 2008, 04:35 PM   #3
Rob96

Quote:
You can't go wrong with a Mossberg 500 / 590 or a Remington 870.
Exactly. Go out and check both out, and buy the one that feels best to you.
Old May 8, 2008, 04:57 PM   #4
BigJimP

Lots of discussions lately on this - but I would also recommend you check out the offerings from Wilson Combat ( they have 3 or 4 models ) - and the Benelli M4 as a semi-auto option.
Old May 8, 2008, 05:52 PM   #5
wnycollector

Another vote for the 870 or mossy 500 models! Good solid values.
Old May 8, 2008, 07:52 PM   #6
Ferd

the Saiga S-12 is on my wish list but is hard to find. for home defense the saiga 20gauge would be good too and easier to find. again, a mossy 500 or rem 870 are always a great choice too
Old May 8, 2008, 08:17 PM   #7
Superhouse 15

HD Gun

I'm a lefty and the 500 is more lefty / ambi friendly if that matters to you. Even if you're not a lefty the layout of your particular home might have some places where you may have to fire left handed to remain behind cover or move around left-handed corners. Although I have a bunch of shotguns, right now the one loaded for home defense is a 500HD in .410 with S&B buckshot in it and a couple of boxes of buckshot and Remington slugs close by.
Old May 8, 2008, 08:47 PM   #8
JP Sarte

Short as legally possible with the highest capacity magazine you can get.