The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old March 28, 2015, 12:29 PM   #1
toppermost

Taking the leap.... (long range shooting).

I will be finishing up school soon and I will likely get a *significant* raise once I get my first job and I want / need a hobby. I am certain I would love to take up long-range shooting.

As a complete and total noob in that arena what advice can y'all give me?

I am leaning toward .308 (start small and go from there). Should I build an AR10 (I have built a few AR15's)? Should I save up and get an M1A? Or should I go with the tried and true bolt gun? What would be the most fun? Is a bolt gun "easier" to master? What about scopes? What is the minimum power i should look at? Variable? Should I zero at 250, 300, 400 yards (one thing I do know is that i will go with an "MOA" scope).

As I said I am total newbie when it comes to anything bigger than 5.56 and over 300 yards, any advice I can get is welcome.
Old March 28, 2015, 01:44 PM   #2
4EVERM-14

www.centraljerseyhighpower.com/
A great start to learning about shooting at distance can be had by trying NRA Conventional High Power. 200, 300, 600 yards. Plus events out to 1000 yards.
Distinguished Rifleman #731
Presidents 100
Old March 28, 2015, 01:45 PM   #3
Polinese

I think you get way more gun in a bolt action costwise. Savage and Remington are the go to standards for most folk. Semi auto's can compete accuracy wise but I still personally think the bolt gun is the way to go.

If you are going to go semi auto and want accuracy I think the ar is the way to go. Not doubting the M1A, and I'm sure the M1A fan club will be here soon enough but it seems to me (again total opinion and conjecture) that they need more work to be AS accurate as a bolt gun or ar platform.