The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old January 28, 2010, 12:58 PM   #1
Tenshi

Mossberg 590A1 Special Ops vs. 590 SPX

So I'll be purchasing a new pump action in a few weeks and I've narrowed it down to the Mossberg 590A1 Special Ops:

and the Mossberg 590 SPX:

There are a few things preventing me from making a final decision though...

On the Special Ops, I wonder if the Speedfeed stock will give me an uncomfortable cheek weld when housing shells. Anyone have any experience with this particular Speedfeed stock?
This model is available with a solid stock as well if the Speedfeed proves to be uncomfortable... but I have no experience with it, so hence the uncertainty.

As for the SPX, I definitely prefer the picatinny rail and ghost ring sights on the SPX over the Spec Op and that would be the deal-maker for me if the barrel wasn't ported. If They made the SPX in an unported version, I'd be sold.

So I guess my question is if any of you have experience with either/both of these guns and which you prefer, if you say the Spec Op, would you go with or without Speedfeed? I just want to make sure that I get a gun that I won't have to spend much or any money to get the way that I want.

Thanks ahead for all of the help guys.
Old January 28, 2010, 01:11 PM   #2
Lee Lapin

Don't have either one, so no direct experience to report. But I have had guns with Speedfeed magazine-type stocks, and don't like 'em, they only hold 2 rounds per side and that not reliably. Plus the rounds aren't as easy to get to as a Sidesaddle, and I like Sidesaddles.

Don't like ported barrels on 'serious' guns either, the gas/smoke between me and whatever is downrange I can do without. No, it's not directly in the line of sight but I still find it distracting.