The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 21, 1999, 10:36 PM   #1
Jawbone

I'm a little new to reloading a 6.5 x 55 swedish mauser. I would like to work up a nice accurate load for silhouette's using 129gr. Could anyone tell me a nice accurate load or anything else I might need to consider on this subject?
Thank you very much Jawbone.

(1) My first try was a 129gr Hor-45grs/H4350. Heading to the range to test.
(a) Have little supplies, hit Good and sighted for 300 meters, Will chorigraph.

[This message has been edited by Jawbone (edited August 24, 1999).]

[This message has been edited by Jawbone (edited August 24, 1999).]

[This message has been edited by Jawbone (edited August 26, 1999).]

[This message has been edited by Jawbone (edited August 26, 1999).]

[This message has been edited by Jawbone (edited August 27, 1999).]
Old August 24, 1999, 10:55 PM   #2
orsogato

Hey Jawbone,

Since I am a huge IMR4895 fan I will suggest a few loads for you on your Swede.

129 grain (I am assuming some type of jacketed bullet and not cast)

IMR4895 start gr. 38.0 MAX grains 42.
velocity on starter load = 2500f.p.s. approx
" " on max load = 2700

let me know how it goes.
Old August 24, 1999, 11:04 PM   #3
Big Bunny

A great cartridge indeed ! I have a M38 an M96 and a sporter(1901 Carl Gustav receiver) with synthetic stock, Timney trigger, Leupold 3/9 scope.(The AG42B is now illegal here...)A quality rig .
I use the excellent standard NORMA military berdan load @35C a shot, one is 140/139gn and the other is a shortie 95gn for target work.
For the M38(SSAA military match) I am currently loading Sierra 140 HP spitzer for steels up to 500m with 38gn of ADI 2208 and an RWS berdan primer. Will chrono it soon
and let you know if it is duplicating the military load at 2,500FPS!