The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old November 23, 2009, 09:16 PM   #1
Dave R

California Traveling: Can I have a pistol in the car?

Taking a road trip to CA. Those who know CA gun laws--can I transport a pistol in my car?

If its locked and unloaded?

If its disassembled and locked in the trunk?

Or should I just leave it at home and be a sheeple?
Old November 23, 2009, 10:05 PM   #2
Adrian

I am not a lawyer and this is worth exactly what you paid for it: it's OK to keep it, "unloaded", in a locked container. I scare-quote "unloaded" because a loaded magazine in the container makes the gun "loaded" under California law. The trunk is considered "a locked container", but the glovebox is explicitly not (even if it's locked).

I remember something about being able to keep loaded magazines separate from the gun-in-a-locked-container (e.g. in another locked container, or on your person), but one of the other Californians here will have to deliver the specifics.
Matt.25:40
Old November 23, 2009, 10:08 PM   #3
Big Caliber

It's my understanding that you can transport a pistol in your car IF it is UNLOADED and kept in a locked container that is "not the glove compartment". Ammo should be kept in a separate container. You can lock it in your trunk if it's unloaded. In this state the laws are subject to whatever mood the local leo is in at the time. The only reasons to have a gun of any kind in your car here is: 1 you are going to or from the range, 2 you are going to or from the gunsmith, 3 you are going to or from the hunting grounds. That's it! If you tell the cop , "It's for self defense.", your stay in Cali will be a whole lot longer and more unpleasant than you can possibly imagine. No brag, just fact.
Old November 23, 2009, 10:53 PM   #4
fyimo

Then I'd take a hammer or legal knife because it's faster and easier to get to.
Old November 24, 2009, 01:32 AM   #5
javabum