The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 31, 2011, 10:38 PM   #1
Shawn F.

9mm Reloading Questions!

I have been saving my 9mm brass and will soon have about 5000 rounds saved. Most people I know say it's a waste of time and money to reload 9mm but from what I can tell, it's cheaper and nicer quality doing it myself plus I enjoy reloading. I am pretty new to reloading in general and have only reloaded .223 rounds for my AR15 so other than that I am clueless. A friend came over, set everything up, showed me what to do and off I went.

Now I will be buying a new die set, primers, powder and 115 grain bullets to do it myself. I am using a RCBS single setup with a 505 scale and everything is RCBS (exact model I cannot say but it's not a progressive setup). I do not mind doing every round 1 by 1 for now so that is ok. What I will be using the ammo for is target shooting and then maybe a few hundred for carry use but for now target ammo. I do want pretty accurate stuff though.

Pretty much my questions are:
1.) What bullets would you recommend getting in 115 or 124 grain?
2.) Do I NEED a micrometer to check the length of my final round or is there an easier way? Someone at the gun shop told me today that I need to do this but I never did it with my .223 and they shot fine.
3.) What brand of powder and primers are usually the best? I was looking at Blue Dot powder and CCI primers but not sure.

I highly doubt I will buy local even though I get a Police/Fire discount because local prices here are through the roof. Online might be my best bet but you guys know more on this... I have been reading through a lot of threads and didn't find many threads specific to the 9mm Luger rounds.
Thanks a lot for any info, suggestions or opinions!
Old January 31, 2011, 10:40 PM   #2
DiscoRacing

i use 124s..and hodgen titegroup powder...