The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old May 31, 2005, 04:48 PM   #1
dm1333

Skeet question

Any one have any good guides or references for shooting clay pigeons? Especially with using clay pigeons to improve your wingshooting skills. I started to shoot clay pigeons to practice for upland bird season and I want to work on my technique. With my pump I don't seem to have any problem shooting some doubles, and with my 20 gauge single shot I probably smoke 20 out of 25 on a consistent basis now. The problem is that I just started shooting without looking into the "fundamentals" of shotgunning, and I don't want to pick up any bad habits. After 21 years in the military I do have a really good grasp of the pistol and rifle. Any help would be appreciated.
Old May 31, 2005, 05:38 PM   #2
kudu

I would suggest finding a good trap and skeet shooting club that has either an instructor or someone that would be willing to work with you that others recommend. Also look up in the search function Dave McCracken and 101 threads. He has very good advice in regard to fitting and technique. He is also on www.thehighroad.org

Welcome to the wonderful world of shotguns.
Old May 31, 2005, 07:10 PM   #3
HunterTRW

A comprehensive, basic primer on the shotgun shooting games is The Gun Digest Book of Trap & Skeet Shooting by Chris Christian (the ISBN is 0-87349-163-7). This book also includes complete coverage of sporting clays, and should provide you with the fundamentals.

Kudu's point about seeking out a competent shooting instructor is well-advised. He/she can help you develop a consistent shooting form that will help result in more birds in your game bag. The instructor can also make corrections in the key components of stance, gun-mount, grip on the fore-end, looking at the target and ignoring the barrel, etc., before they become bad habits.