The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old February 11, 2009, 06:48 PM   #1
bswiv

Sawzall and hogs.....

I should have taken some pictures of this, will on the next one.

Learned a new thing, to me at least, the other day. Now I clean fish for a living, have for over 30 years. And I've cleaned a lot of stuff besides fish; everything from armidillos, gators ( We are a state licensed processor. ), snakes, turtles a couple of emus, more than a few hogs and deer and even a ostritch once. Usually have some idea what to do with it once it dead.

WIth that though I'm always open to new ideas. If it's easier or faster or results in more meat yield that the way I'm doing it now I want to know about it. I mean cleaning game is not exactly the fun part......

So the other day Rich, the brother in law, and I are getting ready to clean a hog and my buddy Don sends his wife over with a battery powered sawzall. He says that it is the cats meow, will make things "quicker" and "easier".

Now I figured it'd be more trouble than it was worth but as it was Don's sawzall that we were going to trash figured what the heck and went at it.

Well turns out it was a good idea. In about the same amount of time as it takes to carefully remove the backstrap and the tenderloin we had the ribs off, the backbone and pelvis split all the way to the neck and the neck roast cleanly removed.

Then we went at the split backbone and in no time we had about 30 chops that looked about as good as any you ever saw in Publix, even though a little smaller.

And we did not even break the saw..............

Worth a try the next animal you've got to work on.
Old February 11, 2009, 08:49 PM   #2
wpcexpert