The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old June 9, 2016, 10:51 AM   #1
desibaba

Why dont people like trading in their guns every few years?

I work in the car business and while I can definitely buy and maintain a car for 10 + years I like leasing them so I'm in a brand new one every 2-3 years max. From my short experience with firearms they are relatively inexpensive and from what I can tell you can buy a gun for $600 or so, use it for 2-3 years and then trade it in for about half the price(hopefully more if you sell it privately) and now you have a brand new firearm without the scratches and possible rust that the old one had accumulated and maybe you are craving for a newer design or model that just came out. From these forums it seems like people don't generally like doing that. I understand that a gun can last you a lifetime unlike a car but I'm sure most firearms enthusiasts get the itch for new products fairly quickly but it doesn't seem to be common to be trade in your 3 year old 9mm or AR15 for a new model. Compared to most other products (like automobiles) the loss is only a few hundred dollars instead of thousands so why aren't most people doing this?
Old June 9, 2016, 10:56 AM   #2
NINEX19

Speaking for myself,

When I buy a firearm, I buy quality; always with the intention of keeping it for a lifetime and passing it down to my kids. I never have any intention of selling or trading it in.

Occasionally, a stinker slips in, and I will sell, and it is always at a loss. I am not looking for the next newest and greatest thing to "try out". I am always looking for a lifetime collection and a heritage to pass on.

I treat my guns correctly and do not get "scratches" and "rust" on them. Utilitarian trail guns and hunting rifles, I allow for a bit more abuse.
Old June 9, 2016, 10:59 AM   #3
BarryLee