The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 23, 2013, 03:32 PM   #1
Sevens

GP-100 Man: Anneal .357 brass?

Quote:
I have been known to anneal yellow 357 brass!
They went rite back to shooting very consistently across the chrony!!
I find this VERY interesting. Please tell me more!

I'm still relatively new to using a chronograph and both myself and a buddy have swapped ideas and concerns that case mouth tension/bullet pull has a lot to do with how consistently we can get some of our handloads to chronograph.

And though I've sent MANY different .357 Magnum concoctions through the wickets on my chrono, with MANY different results, the most consistent results I've ever gotten BY FAR and in any caliber, in any platform, has been with 180 grain cast lead slugs going at a speedy pace (1,220 FPS) in .357 Magnum.

I've had the Chrony return disturbingly low ES and SD's, to the point where I almost wondered if the unit was working, but I've repeated the feat and I can't wait for warm weather to try it again.

I'm wondering if the fact that it's a cast lead slug being pushed firmly (and it pushing back due to it's size and weight!) is returning a very consistent starting resistance...which is, in turn, returning a VERY uniform ES and SD.

How consistent, you ask?! I'm talking extreme spread of 2 feet per second. SD that my Chrony Beta Master shows on the screen as "1."
Old January 23, 2013, 03:34 PM   #2
Sevens

*NOTE* This thread looks like it was meant to be a PM to GP-100 Man and it kind of is, but I wanted to open the discussion to the forum.

GP-100 Man had posted the quoted portion in a different thread and I did not want to drift that thread.

I had not heard of many folks annealing handgun brass, if any. MAN, I don't want to add annealing as a part of my routine. (I'm no good around fire... ) but in the interest of learning more, I want to see discussion on this matter.