The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old November 8, 2010, 07:20 PM   #1
hivoltagefx4

Help Out a New Hunter!!

Hello all,

I wanted to see if I could get some help/recommendations on a scope for a rifle I'm looking at? I'm new to hunting and I've got my mind set on a Tikka T3 Hunter in a .270. My question is? I have no idea what type of scope I should get? I don't mind spending decent money for a quality scope. Anyway? Nikon, Leupold, etc... what specs do you all recommend?

Before I forget? Most of what I plan on hunting is deer. Not sure if that makes a difference or not? Thanks all for helping out this newbie!
Old November 8, 2010, 11:48 PM   #2
BfloBill

Where are you hunting?
What type of terrain?
What distances do you expect to take shots at?
Old November 9, 2010, 12:24 AM   #3
Nnobby45

Out west, a 4X scope is a great all around scope.

In less open country, a 2 1/2 X would probably work fine.

And, of course, there are the vaiable power scopes. Leupold makes some very good ones. Resist the tempation to go too high in power.
Old November 9, 2010, 02:56 AM   #4
bamaranger

.270 scope

You've bought a nice rifle, don't scrimp on a scope. I think the tendency these days is to buy more optic than is really needed, however, in terms of size and magnification. Since you asked, I'd consider Burris and Leupold as starting points, and a 3-9x variable w/ 40mm bell is pretty universal.

You don't mention any specifics, but a .270 is a deer rifle for most of us.

I've gone retro and have gravitated back towards fixed power on several of my rifles. My .270 just got a Leupold M8 fixed 6x from ebay, with the 42mm bell and upgraded glass, for about a third of its original cost.
Old November 9, 2010, 08:42 AM   #5
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam