The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old November 29, 2005, 04:38 AM   #1
OmegaSix

Mossberg Maverick 88 Trigger Trouble

Hello all. My first time on the forums and I hope you guys/gals can help me out. I'm new to shotguns and I recently purchased a Mossberg Maverick 88 12 ga Shotgun. Problem is it has started to "misfire" I stripped it down and after alot of trouble shooting I believe i have narrowed it down to the trigger assembly/safety (as the 88 has a crossbolt saftey mounted in front of the trigger unlike the Mossberg 500 as i'm sure you all know). Anyways, the problem I found was that sometimes when I pull the trigger the hammer flips up at a 90 degree angle (Figure 1.) instead of extending further forward (Figure 2.) thus hitting the firing pin. I have studied (without dissasembling) the trigger assembly and I can not see the cause of this problem. But, I have noticed if when loaded and ready to fire, if I push the safety off and push it in hard the gun will fire every time, therefore I believe the safety may be at fault and "catching" somehow. Also I figure that the hammer is able to stop at 90 straight up incase of an accidental bump so the gun doesn't fire, but should not do that when I pull the damn trigger Also when it does "misfire" I can pull the trigger a second time and hear the hammer click again moving the hammer forward where it should have moved the first time I pulled. Anyways I hope i explained the problem well enough and would love any input and/or questions regarding my problem. Happy shooting

------------------| < Hammer
Front of gun < ===== < Trigger Assembly (Click, no shot)

------------------\ < Hammer
Front of gun < ===== < Trigger Assembly
Old November 29, 2005, 11:05 AM   #2
rwking

problems