The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 24, 2005, 12:45 PM   #1
Buck455

Trimming .45 ACP Brass

Folks,

I want to start by thanking everyone for sharing their knowledge here. I've picked up a lot over the past year by reading these forums.

On to business...

I just bought an RCBS Trim Pro Manual Kit as an upgrade from another manufacturer, and I have a problem with the 45 caliber pilot being way too tight for resized 45 ACP brass. The pilot is so tight I have to force it into the mouth, and turning it in the trimmer really screws up the inside of the cases. Now I know a lot of you don't resize 45 auto brass, but I'm kind of picky, and I'd like to be able to. I'm just getting into reloading 45 ACP, so I don't know if this is a common deal with that cartridge, but I've never seen this problem with 44 Mag or 30-06 with my old trimmer. The RCBS pilot for 44 caliber works fine with my resized 44 brass. I tried both Winchester and Federal brass, and I even tried buying another 45 cal pilot. Same problem across the board. My other thought is that I might have a bad resizer die. Like I said, I'm just getting started reloading this caliber so I haven't completed any rounds with my new die set. I have an email in to RCBS, but I figured I'd try asking here first.

Any thoughts/advise?

Thanks again.
Old January 24, 2005, 01:15 PM   #2
Robert M Boren Sr

It could be that the pilot is wrong, did you mic it out? Also try belling the case before trimming. Or use your champher tool for the inside and see if that helps. To be honest with ya, I don't see why you need to do this. The only problems I've had with my loads was with the cases that I had trimmed. Just my two cents worth.
Old January 24, 2005, 03:20 PM   #3
PhotoRecon