The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 2, 2011, 11:28 PM   #1
AC89

General concensus on Hornady Lock-N-Load?

Hey all, I was wondering what the general feeling towards the Hornady Lock-N-Load AP Progressive Press was.

I am new to reloading, however my father is not, and I will likely be working with him. I have already started reading, and will be picking up some new reloading books to replace the old one my father has. I will mainly be using the press for reloading .40 S&W and .45 ACP.

Would this press be a good choice for some thing that isn't going to break the bank, but will also last?
Old January 2, 2011, 11:42 PM   #2
dawico

It is a good press. Mine needed some minor filing as the priming area was made too tight, and every grain of powder or brass shaving jammed it up. Besides that, it is a good machine. I haven't tried any other progressive press, but if you spend some money on a good press, you will be happy.
Old January 3, 2011, 12:12 AM   #3
jmortimer

General Concensus - Get the Hornady or a Dillion if you are getting a progressive. You can't go wrong with the Hornady or a Dillion.
Old January 3, 2011, 09:22 AM   #4
FtrPilot

I have owned my Hornady LNL progressive for 2 years and absolutely love it. I have loaded over 20,000 rounds...9mm and 45ACP. Changing between calibers is very easy because of the LNL bushings. I have not used a Dillon so I can't comment on which one is better. But as jmortimer states, you can't go wrong with either.

With any setup, there will be additional things to buy. One of my favorites is the Hornady Lock-N-Load Powder Measure Micrometer for Handgun Rotor and Metering Assembly...link below. It is a huge time saver.

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct...tnumber=615914

The following article compares the features of the Hornady, Dillon, and Lee progressive presses. It is a good article.