The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old July 18, 2014, 06:19 AM   #1
davidmichael45

New to semi auto- which gun would be the best?

Im looking to buy me a gun and im new to guns and everything and would like someones opinion.

These are the 3 im looking at. I really am looking to buy a .40 and 9mm
1. SAR B6P 9MM i can get this new for $241.33...
2. Canik s-120 all black $318.95-chrome $343.15
3. Eaa Witness ps polymer model 999048 .40 cal $279.99

are the canik and sar about the same identical guns? which in you're opinion are better? i know EAA distributes them and turkey makes both guns.. plus the $241 is a steal...

On the witness gun i havent heard about crack frames on the .40 cal so i should be ok with this one..

any advice would be greatly appreciated....im new to this forum also.
Old July 18, 2014, 06:37 AM   #2
RX-79G

I honestly think the SAR might be the best bet. It is about the same gun as the poly Witness in a better caliber for general use. The SAR guns are generally extremely accurate and well made. Supposed to have good triggers.

Nothing wrong with the Canik, but I do think the SAR plant does better work. AND, the SAR could be sold for more than you paid for it, while the Canik is at market price.

In the end, all of these are okay. Consider the cost and availability of appropriate magazines, too. For a first pistol that you are unlikely to keep until you die, I like the idea of the most gun for the cash so you can discover what you like and dislike without buyer's remorse.
Old July 18, 2014, 07:58 AM   #3
lee n. field

Quote:
Im looking to buy me a gun and im new to guns and everything and would like someones opinion.

These are the 3 im looking at. I really am looking to buy a .40 and 9mm
1. SAR B6P 9MM i can get this new for $241.33...
2. Canik s-120 all black $318.95-chrome $343.15
3. Eaa Witness ps polymer model 999048 .40 cal $279.99
What's your budget?