The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 1, 2009, 05:58 PM   #1
IllinoisCoyoteHunter

Annealing Brass Question

I purchased remington bulk brass (.243) and was wondering if has already been annealed? Would it hurt to go ahead and anneal it? I am new to annealing...but I wanna give it a whirl. I already have FL sized, neck turned, and deburred flash hole. If i do anneal it, do i need to neck size after the annealing process?? Thanks guys!!!

~~ICH~~

~NRA LIFE MEMBER~
~NRA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR~
Old January 1, 2009, 06:03 PM   #2
armedtotheteeth

I never do anything after annealing the cases exceptdry them and tumble them. The tumbler takes of the discoloration from the torch. I doubt those cases need annealing. Im sure it has already been done.
Old January 1, 2009, 09:58 PM   #3
Unclenick
Staff

They are already annealed, but have been polished afterward. If you hold them in the light just right you will see the slight color change where the oxide came off.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old January 1, 2009, 11:48 PM   #4
zippy13

I don't want to jump to any conclusions...
Is your bulk Remington brass new or sorted range brass? If range brass, then a thorough inspection is recommended and annealing may be appropriate.
Old January 2, 2009, 08:17 AM   #5
dahermit

Quote:
... Would it hurt to go ahead and anneal it? I am new to annealing...but I wanna give it a whirl...
New, unfired brass should not be annealed. If annealing old brass, follow the instructions and do not over do it...it can become too soft and cause unintended problems.
Old January 2, 2009, 09:10 AM   #6
Sam06

The Brass is annealed at the factory like the above folks have pointed out. Here is some info on annealing:

http://www.6mmbr.com/annealing.html