The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old June 26, 2014, 09:33 AM   #1
RevChris1

New CZ P09 vs. SW M&P Full Size (in 9mm)

I am looking to buy my first handgun. I have narrowed down to a 9mm full size. The two models that feel the best to me are the CZ P09 and the full size M&P. Does anyone have experience w/ these? Which one would you lean towards and why? Thanks for the help!
Old June 26, 2014, 09:45 AM   #2
JNad

I have a P07, and my ONLY complaint is lack of aftermarket support in terms of sight options. Holsters are easy enough to get, but night sights are tough (nearly impossible) to come by. If you don't love the trigger, which you probably will, Cajun Gunworks and CZ Custom can solve that problem for you. I thought I loved the trigger on my 07, until I put a Cajun Gunworks hammer kit in it. Now I love it, and what I felt before was just "strong like."

I have zero experience with the M&P, but I love my CZ. The 07 is plenty accurate, so I am sure the extra sight radius on the 09 will only make it better.

Sounds like a tough decision ahead.
Old June 26, 2014, 09:52 AM   #3
sigarms228

RevChris1. Have you tried any of these yet?? That is the best way to determine what works best for YOU.

They are two very different pistols with M&P being striker fired and the CZ being hammer fired double action/single action. Many shooters have a strong preference for one trigger action over the other and some like both.

Finding a M&P to rent should be easy but probably not the CZ model though you can at least rent a hammer fired pistol to see what they are like if you have never tried one.
Old June 26, 2014, 10:01 AM   #4
RevChris1