The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 19, 2009, 05:08 PM   #1
03clifford

New to this, have some questions

Hello, all. I am new to reloading, and I have a few questions for you. 1st, how long do you guys clean your brass. The reason I ask is I have been cleaning mine for about 4 hours and they are not clean. The brass is old, several months, and it was fired from my gun. Anyway, I guess I need new media? The stuff I have now is walnut and the tumbler is a midway 1292.

Well I have been reading on the site and safety seems to be the word of the day! No distractions, pay attention to what you are doing and double check you’re self. Well, some of the sections talk about hot loads, to much pressure, and such. Does anyone have pictures (or know where I can get some) of rounds that have been loaded wrong? Is this even feasible? I’m not looking to load the max in my ammo, just looking for more information is all.

2nd, does it really matter if I get the regular dies or the carbide? One just eliminates a step (lube) right?

Ang the last question for this post, the kit I have was given to me by a friend. It was still in the box, is this going to be a problem?

Ok, that’s it for now. Thanks for your help.
Old January 19, 2009, 05:16 PM   #2
sserdlihc

try this for your brass cleaning question.

http://thefiringline.com/forums/show...cleaning+brass

Quote:
Ang the last question for this post, the kit I have was given to me by a friend. It was still in the box, is this going to be a problem?
Was everything in the kit? What kit were you given? Have you read and reread your loading manuals?
What are you reloading?
Old January 19, 2009, 05:45 PM   #3
LHB1