The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old November 23, 2015, 09:09 AM   #1
Hans

Remington 870 LW stock change

I am in need of some help from someone with more gunsmithing experience than I have (which is probably anyone viewing this forum).

I have an 870 LW Wingmaster 20 ga. that my father-in-law gave me. It is NOT the magnum version. I have 2 boys just getting old enough to bird hunt, and the stock is far too long for them. I need to switch it out for a stock with a youth LOP for a few years until they are big enough to handle the full length version.

So my questions are:

Does the recoil pad come off without cutting? It is the original pad, and it seems to be glued on. If not, I guess I will have to cut it off and replace it with a slip on version later, which isn't a big deal. It is a fairly heavily used gun, and won't be getting sold.

Also, will a regular 870 20 ga. youth replacement stock work or will I have to find one specifically for the 870 LW? I think the receiver is smaller on the LW.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Without the 2nd Amendment, none of the others would exist.
Old November 23, 2015, 10:03 AM   #2
hoghunting

The recoil pad should have two screws holding it onto the stock. If you squeeze the sides of the pad together you should see the two small slits where the screws are located. Put a few drops of oil on a Phillips screw driver and you should be able to unscrew the pad without damaging it.
Old November 23, 2015, 11:58 AM   #3
Hans

Thanks, I will check it out after work.
Without the 2nd Amendment, none of the others would exist.
Old November 24, 2015, 02:26 AM   #4
Dixie Gunsmithing
Moderator Emeritus