The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 22, 2014, 11:43 AM   #1
happymachinist

9mm die sizing too small?

I'm new to reloading and I've thus far only reloaded 40 S&W and 45 ACP. This morning I began to size some 9mm Luger.

While FL sizing I noticed quite a bit more resistance than either the 40 and 45 I've done. (Did about 30 cases various stamp.)

The reloading manuals I have, state their dimensions at max are .381 (case mouth) mine are coming out .373-.374 OD at the case mouth. Does that sound about right?

Case ID at the mouth is .350 +/-.002 (caliper accurate). This sounds kind of tight but like I said I'm new, just want to double check before potentially screwing up anymore cases.

Also the ID of the carbide ring on my die measures .372, again caliper accuracy applies.

I guess I also should note I am using Lee dies, tried calling Lee but got the busy tone so I thought I'd check here in the meantime.
Old April 22, 2014, 12:24 PM   #2
riche

Let me see if I can help, The bullet dia. for 9mm parabellum should be around .355, so your .350+/-.002 sounds about right. What you need to do is bell the mouth of your cases just enough so the bullet just fits inside the case neck but don't over do it, then when you seat the bullet the rest of the way you'll have plenty of tension to grip the bullet. Hope this helps, perhaps I didn't understand your question if my help was no help at all.
Old April 22, 2014, 01:38 PM   #3
happymachinist

Yeah my main concern was too much tension on the bullet. I generalized my ID tolerance as best I could at .350+/-.002. Some cases are at .348 which would put me at a .007 press which sounded a bit excessive, even after i bell out the case mouth to start the bullet, but like I said I'm a novice.