The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old July 12, 2007, 08:25 AM   #1
Mainah

Thank You

Greetings from Maine. I've been checking in here for about a year, ever since I got my first hunting license. I'm an older rookie- 42. I didn't grow up with hunters, this site has been a fantastic source of information. Thanks everyone.

Why did I take up hunting? A couple of years ago I woke up, got a cup of coffee, and brought my dogs (at that time a ten year old German Shepherd and Border Collie) out into the front yard. We live on four acres in semi-rural Maine.

The Shepherd took off into the bushes, there was a pretty big ruckus, and he came out with a huge doe on his heels. They squared off about fifteen feet from me, she went up on her rear legs and started kicking him.

He backed down, she ran over to the Border Collie (who for the first time in her life was standing still) and gave her a couple shots. The Shepherd came back for more, chased the doe off into the woods, and then came running back with the doe in hot pursuit.

Meanwhile I'm yelling at the deer. I got her attention, and I swear that we locked eyes. My wife opened the front door, I turned around, and the deer came towards me, so I charged her (in my boxers, still holding the coffee).

The doe ran off, but only about fifty feet. I got the dogs inside, then grabbed an axe handle from the shed and chased her into the woods.

Within a year I had a new 870 and I'd completed hunter safety.

Sorry for the length of this post, but it tells you why I'm here.
Old July 12, 2007, 08:32 AM   #2
fisherman66

I just want to make sure I understand. You took up hunting as a means for self defense from bambi? That's a riot.

Welcome aboard!
Old July 12, 2007, 08:59 AM   #3
Mainah