The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old December 13, 2011, 01:20 PM   #1
Brant

Concealed Carry / Illionis

I am a Correctional Officer in Illinois. Illinois law states that for peace officers (that includes corrections) that they may carry a weapon while in prefomence of duties. "Preformance of duties" is defiend be the head of their department.

This means that some officers may carry off duty while some may not. Corrections in southern Illinois are generally allowed to carry off duty. This makes Sense because, while an inmate may be upset at a police officer, its corrections that spend 24 hours a day with them. Its the correcitonal officer they know the most about, and the correctional officer who cause angers them the most.

I work at a jail that has a capacity of about 700 inmates. I see many of them on the streets. On a few occasions they have seen me. This is where my issue begins.

While at a bar (about 100 yards from my house) I ran into a particularly friendly person who said it was his birthday and if he sees any pig he's going to pop one off in them. He then reached behind his back. The friend that was with me opened his eyes about as wide as softballs and said "what was that?" The person in question reached behind his back again. Being in bad position to see what the guy had I made small talk and soon headed for the restroom. My buddy was about 2 seconds behind me and entered practically hyperventalating. The guy had a gun. (shiney revolver to be exact, he was quite adimant about that)