The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old March 5, 2009, 06:34 PM   #1
brackmcmurtrey

Teaching Groups about Gun Safety...

I am a student at a University and am taking a course on effective teaching. One of the activities is to teach a class on a topic I am familiar with. I have chosen gun safety. The class will consist of Pro, Anti, and Don't care gunners. I am not for or againts. I simply am stating the facts. I have taken many NRA classes and have great resources for the course content. What I do not have is a group activitys that will first, get people (adults from 25 years old to 55years old) interested and participating as a group, and second, relate to the topic being presented. Again, I am not looking for information about gun safety. I am looking for examples of group activities that can be related to the topic. The activity does not need to be gun related. For example: have students reach into a paper sack with out looking inside first. To the students surprise, about half find a mouse trap or whatever. The moral of the story…whether or not you want it to happen, whether you are pro-gun or anti-gun, there is a good chance that you or someone you know will come in contact with a gun and it would be a good idea for you to know how to safely deal with the situation. Any help with examples or activities would be greatly appreciated. The activities do not need to involve guns, only the idea that, being prepared is better than the alternative.
Thanks

Last edited by brackmcmurtrey; March 5, 2009 at 07:05 PM.
Old March 5, 2009, 06:49 PM   #2
oldkim

That's a tough one...

It's tough to get people that want to learn about guns together but keeping a class of non gunners and teaching them is going to be a tough challenge.

The first thing I can imagine is the whole argument against guns - the anti gunners in the room and even the middle of the road folks. Just a nightmare.