The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 17, 2013, 11:44 AM   #1
kostyanj

Hornady lnl vs Dillon 550/650

Looking to add a member to my bench. Wanted to get some input on what the users of these presses thought. I was starting to drink the Dillon cool aid until I saw an exploded primer tube. The Hornady primer system seems better engineered. I have about 5 years of progressive reloading experience so I definitely do want a progressive.

I'm looking for the following criteria:
Speed
Reliability
Consistency
Ease of changing calibers

This press will be my dedicated pistol caliber press. So I'm looking at 2 calibers right now : 9 and .45acp.

Thoughts/opinions/suggestions?
Old May 17, 2013, 01:57 PM   #2
Unclenick
Staff

AFAIK, the exploding primer pick-up tube can happen in any system that uses primer tubes, be it Dillon or the LNL. It is believed due to primer dust in the tube accumulated over many fill cycles. That dust may be prevented from accumulating excessively by running an alcohol swab through the tubes every once in awhile to remove the dust. Very rare events, but it's worth taking that precaution as insurance against them. Once primers are actually in the primer feed tube, the shield tube surrounds them so that primer gas and ejecta are directed upward in the event of ignition. The filler tubes don't have shields in either system, though. You just have to keep them clean.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle

Last edited by Unclenick; May 18, 2013 at 08:22 AM. Reason: typo fix
Old May 17, 2013, 02:06 PM   #3
drklude

I'll throw out a vote for the Dillon 650. I have a few thousand rounds through mine without a single complaint.
Old May 17, 2013, 02:49 PM   #4
praetorian97

Its the Ford Chevy argument. The only definitive answer is the Dillon 1050 is better than the 650 and LNL AP.