The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old December 17, 2009, 04:48 AM   #1
sam0812

Blackpowder ignition problem with a model cannon

Hi All .Im new to all this so please be kind. Ive got a small cannon[15 inch long-9/16 bore] with a 5/64 dia touchhole. I make my own BP which works great but I cant get anything to burn down the touchhole to set it off. Ive tried loose meal powder,various home made fuses,different mixes of powder etc. The touchhole seems to foul before the flame gets to the charge. Ive got it to fire a couple of times quite well,but its just to inconsistent.Any Ideas ?
Old December 17, 2009, 05:29 AM   #2
Powderman

It is my understanding that FFFFg is priming powder. If that is available, you might try that.

If that is not available, you can "sift" your powder through fine cloth by putting a small quantity on the cloth, and gantly moving the cloth back and forth over a container. The "fines" can be used to prime.

Or, if I were to make a cannon such as this, I would probably acquire an actual firearm "lock", with a hammer, and modify my flashhole to securely hold a shotgun primer.
Old December 17, 2009, 06:43 AM   #3
Doc Hoy

Powderman

Might go to the manufacturer of the piece. Ask if they have had others reporting ignition problems. They might have a quick fix. At the very least I bet they would be interested in your experience given that you use your own powder.
Old December 17, 2009, 07:13 AM   #4
darkgael

Fuse

Have you tried a fuse? Store bought.
That 5/64" is probably too narrow for homemade fuse. The stuff that we make tends to produce more fouling than the store bought factory stuff.
Pete
Old December 17, 2009, 08:31 AM   #5
robhof

robhof