The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 6, 2009, 11:42 PM   #1
btolliverjr

Lee Pro 1000

Ok guys, I am totally new to reloading, but am seriously considering getting into it. I have been looking at the Lee Pro 1000 (in 9mm) https://kempfgunshop.com//index.php?...mart&Itemid=41
Does anyone have any opinions of this press, and what else, besides what comes with this kit, will I need?
Thanks,
BT
Old February 7, 2009, 12:33 AM   #2
Inspector3711

Most importantly you need at least two reloading manuals and you need to read them first. I like one from a bullet company and one from a powder company. You'll see some differences.

You will need powder, bullets, primers, brass, a scale to verify your powder charges with, and I like to use a flash hole deburring tool on the brass first time around. I think the kit has most everything else. I just got mine for the .40S&W today but haven't had time to open the box yet. I bought mine based on advise from a friend that's been using his pro 1000 for about 25 years. I also got the brass collater. Oh... you'll need oil or grease to lube the press with. Lee says to use 20 weight motor oil but my friend uses a light grease called Superlube (it has teflon in it). I'll be looking for some tomorrow morning.

It isn't the best progressive but then I can't justify the expense for a better one and it'll do the job. I feel lucky to have one at all with the economy the way it is. I've been reloading with a single stage RCBS for about 1.5 years. I just got into pistols and need to make more ammo faster so I got the pro 1000 mostly for pistol ammo.

Eventually you'll want a brass tumbler and a bullet puller.

Last edited by Inspector3711; February 7, 2009 at 12:49 AM.
Old February 7, 2009, 08:49 AM   #3
RickV