The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old August 30, 2015, 08:59 AM   #1
kraigwy

The 22 rifle

I use to be a pretty good rifle shot, I'm still a dern good coach because I know what is suppose to be done but I don't shoot like I use to.

I blamed it on age, I'm 68 now so that makes a good excuse.

My kid wanted to go dove hunting as ask to barrow my 870 20 ga. so yesterday I dug it out of the gun safe. Large gun safe and it was in the back, which met I had to unload the safe to get to it.

I found my Anschutz 1807 Standard rifle. I got it out, oiled it down, oiled the stock and just fondled it like it was a long lost lover.

I haven't fired it since I retired from the National Guard in '92.

As I was rubbing it down it brought up memories of shooting ISU (International rifle), I would spend hours upon hours every week shooting that gun. Not much high power shooting in Alaska in the winter but there was small bore. I shot NRA & ISU small bore to keep in shape. I had access to our indoor Police range and I'd shoot the rifle after shift. I had a 33 yard range set up in the house and would practice on air rifle targets. I went through tons of ammo.

That was when I could shoot. It dawned on me it wasn't age, its that I quit shooting, I quit working on my shooting.

I have access to an indoor range, and I can shoot at home. My 1807 is in the front of he safe now. I'm going to learn to shoot again.

Just some random thoughts.
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old August 30, 2015, 09:09 AM   #2
603Country

I also think that, though age may factor in, it's lack of practice that makes us a worse shot than we might have been in the past. I relearn that every time I get a new rifle. The new rifle causes me to shoot a lot, which I would not have been doing with rifles I'd had a good while. And as I shoot the new rifle and new loads, I become more comfortable with the rifle, and my shooting 'skills' get re polished.