The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 14, 2011, 09:58 PM   #1
davebell18

40 S&W Alliant PP

Hi, I am fairly new to reloading. I have bought some books on reloading which has helped a lot and reading these forums. I am having problems on finding a good recipe for my Springfield XD-40 S&W. I have power pistol, magtech primers, 135gr berry's bullets, and single shot brass of different brands. I have tried many different grains of powder and some different OAL but still have not been able to keep a 2 inch circle at 10yds. I was given some bullets made with Accurate No. 5 and was able to shoot very accurate, so i know i am shooting right for the most part. I am using all LEE reloading tools. I have the classic torrent press with the perfect powder measure. If you could help share some recipes that have worked out great for you i would greatly appreciate it. Thanks Dave
Old March 15, 2011, 11:04 AM   #2
larry60

I am loading 155gr JHP Montana Gold bullets and 8.0gr Alliant Power Pistol for my CZ75b. It gives me good performance and good accuracy.
Old March 15, 2011, 06:01 PM   #3
davebell18

Yea, many people have good loads for heavier bullets but im wondering if anyone has found a good one with 135gr. Otherwise if someone who has years of experience could teach me how to tell how deep i should seat the bullet and how i can create my own recipe. I know the max and min length go but where do i start and what about the powder? I have found out where my gun does not extract the brass when fire and that to the max is i believe 5 different holes i can use on my press. Thanks for the help.
Old March 16, 2011, 07:28 AM   #4
Shootest

Why did you choose to start with such an extremely light bullet and for what reason do you want to stay with it? I would use something in the 165g to 180g range.
Old March 16, 2011, 07:48 AM   #5
madmo44mag

That bullet is way to light IMHO.