The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old June 6, 2009, 12:02 PM   #1
laktrash

IWB clip or belt loops

What or the pros and cons of IWB holsters with metal clips or loops for belts ? I like the idea of loops but also like being able to take off without undoing my belt any imput or ideas ?
Old June 6, 2009, 10:09 PM   #2
QBall45

I have no experience with clips on a holster. I do like the snap close blet loops on my Milt Sparks Summer Special II. This is one fine piece of leather work. The snap loops make it very easy to unsnap and pull out holster and gun together this is nice as it keeps that trigger covered.
Old June 7, 2009, 07:45 AM   #3
TailGator

I have had only one holster with clips. It was a long time ago and I don't remember the brand, but it didn't stay on the belt reliably - I could draw and the holster came along with the gun sometimes. I have used belt loops since. Maybe some of the redesigned clips of recent years are better.

With snap belt loops, you don't have to take the belt off. You can just unbuckle it, pull a little loop in it over your holster, poke the belt loops around it and snap them, then re-tighten your belt. You are going to loosen your belt to make room for gun and holster anyway, so no big deal.
Old June 7, 2009, 08:13 AM   #4
Kreyzhorse

Either method works well. Most of my holsters are looped but I do have two with clips. I prefer the loop for the additional security they bring, but clips are nice to simply remove the holster without undoing your rig.

You really can't go wrong with one or the other, order one and try it with whatever method you like best. Holster are pretty personal deals and what works for one person won't always work for another.
Old June 7, 2009, 08:54 AM   #5
BallisticBilly

I just ordered one of these: http://www.productwizard.com/bianchi...fessional.html