The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 4, 2011, 08:26 PM   #1
TennJed

Bullseye Powder 357 lead load (new to reloading)

Guys I am just getting started with reloading. Thanks to some info I found in another thread I have a Lee Classic Reloader in .357 magnum (don't quite have the $$ for a press yet)

I am able to use some supplies from a friend.

Franklin Arsenal Digital Scale
Bullseye Powder
CCI 550 sm pistol primers
125 gr Semi Wadcutter hard cast lead bullets
125 gr Flat Point DS Plated bullets from Berrys.

I have Lymans Reloading manual. They do not list these exect bullets, but they do list Bullyseye for some of the 357 mags.

Would a 7gr load be a good start? I suggest this based on Lymans bullyseye listing for:

125 gr jacketed HP 6.5 gr start 8.6 gr max.
120 gr linotype 1.585' oal 5.7 start 8.0 max
120 gr linotype 1.590' oal 6.5 start 8.30 max

Do you think 7gr would be safe to shoot? Right now I am not as concerned about velocity and accuracy as I am about just getting my feet wet.

I will be shooting from either a Ruger Stainless Blackhawk 6.5"; Ruger Blued Blackhawk 6.5", or a Ruger sp101 2.25"

Thanks
Old May 4, 2011, 09:42 PM   #2
reloader28

I think you would be good to start with around 7gr.
You could work up or down from there depending on how hard the lead is.
Hopefully they are sized big enough for your barrel.
This is for the lead boolits as I aint shot any plated ones.
Old May 4, 2011, 09:48 PM   #3
gspman