The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old February 3, 2011, 04:06 PM   #1
Georgian

Do I need to install a magazine extention?

Hey yall. I have a plain jane riot model 870; 18.5" cylinder bore barrel, 4+1 capacity, with wood stocks. Its the classic, old-school police look, but I have been contemplating going with a Tank Rifle shop extention, but am unsure whether it will be better in the long run. The shotgun has been relegated strictly to home defense use, as I do not hunt with it. The old wood stocks either need to be replaced or refinished, which I am not experienced with. If I replace them I was hoping to find some police trade-in stocks. Does anyone know where I could find some? Any opinions or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

God Bless
Old February 3, 2011, 05:02 PM   #2
TheKlawMan

Check ebay. they had a lot of used stocks yesterday.
Old February 3, 2011, 05:41 PM   #3
70extreme

4 + 1 is fine for me. The 870 handles better without the extension.
Old February 3, 2011, 06:59 PM   #4
scorpion_tyr

I really like the look of wood stock and forend with a tube extension. I say go for it. Just don't forget the dremmel
Old February 3, 2011, 09:23 PM   #5
mwar410

I just tested mine at 10 yds, it patterned just under 10" with 2 3/4" #4 buck, and that was personally shortened. I didn't see any reason for more than 5 shots.
Old February 3, 2011, 10:36 PM   #6
Dfariswheel

Whether you need an extension or not depends on the circumstances in which you're most likely to use the gun.
If you live in a quiet area, the police respond fairly fast, and the most likely threat is going to be one or two burglars or intruders who will likely run at the first sign you're armed, you may not need it.

If you live in an isolated area and may have to hold them off for a while, a rough part of town, the police are slow, and you may be facing a small mob, you may need an extension.