The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 13, 2013, 02:29 AM   #1
kharter

Herters reloading supplies

My Dad and i had found his old reloading supplies from when he was younger and it was only half of the kit. He had a Super x press and dies we cannot find the other box that contains the other parts to the reloading kit. Since i am new to reloading and wouldn't have any clue on where to find anything reloading. Would somebody be able to tell me what we are missing and also if there is any place that we could possibly replace that supplies or if it it cheaper get a new kit.
Old July 13, 2013, 08:29 AM   #2
Rifleman1776

I would say to forget it.
Herters stuff was proprietry and now is long gone and obsolete.
I had a press and several sets of dies I got for almost nothing at a yard sale. After sitting on a shelf for 20 years I finally gave away.
Old July 13, 2013, 08:44 AM   #3
iraiam

The dies are still usable on any standard press, I have an old set of 270 Win "Herters Inc." dies and the same in 30-30 Win. The dies fit all my other brands of press

I guess the key is if the Herters press will accept the standard shell holders made by all the other manufacturers like Lyman, RCBS, Lee and such.

"I ask, sir, what is the militia? It is the whole people except for a few public officials." George Mason
Old July 13, 2013, 11:11 AM   #4
RoscoeLarue

I have to agree about the dies still working. I have several dies that I purchased back in the early 60's for my calibers, that a friend who had the Herters press.
I have since used same Herter's dies in my Lee press. Not a problem.
Old July 13, 2013, 06:06 PM   #5
math teacher