The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old May 11, 2011, 03:48 PM   #1
Smoke Screen

PLEASE help me build a COMBAT SHOTGUN (seriously need some advice here fellas)

Ok, so I've saved up my dinero, and I'm going to build a combat shotgun. I've been watching the DVD series by MAGPUL - Art of the Dynamic Shotgun and there are sooo many different variations one can equip their shotgun with, that don't know where to start! This shotgun build will be PURELY A COMBAT shotgun. SO:

Where do I start? What does military and LEO recommend? Bead sight, vs. Ghost Ring, vs. Red dot? 6 or 9 round? 18.5" vs. 20"? Fixed full pistol grip stock or 6-position? Porting? Muzzle Break? Heat sheild? Obviously the situations are endless, but those who have experience handling/using a FIGHTING shotgun, what would be the recommended accessories/must-haves?

I have NO experience with a combat style shotgun, but have years on hunting shotguns. Side by's, Overunders, .410-.16-.12 ga....you name it. Just kinda hung up on where to get going with the Battle-styled-scattergun.

Things I know I want...a pistol grip full stock, and a standoff/breach end on the barrel. Thanks for the input guys(& gals)!

P.S. The first combat shotgun build will be a PUMP. The next will be a semi-auto. As for the semi-auto's....what are some of the most customizable semi-auto platforms out there? I'm guessing it'd be the 1100's, the 930, and the benelli m2's?
Old May 11, 2011, 04:13 PM   #2
Mudinyeri

What sort of combat do you anticipate?
Old May 11, 2011, 04:41 PM   #3
Technosavant

I don't know why you'd need to build up a tactical shotgun. There's several of them on the market- given your list of desires, I'd recommend an 870 Express Tac Camo. Sounds like it's what you want right out of the box with a full warranty.