The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 12, 2012, 12:54 PM   #1
p5200

Dial Caliper Question

I've been using cheap digital calipers for all my reloading needs and was just wondering if a dial type such as this one would be better to use? http://www.amazon.com/Starrett-1202-.../dp/B000EOJQGG Thanks!
Old August 12, 2012, 12:59 PM   #2
Creeper

Starrett and Mitutoyo are some of the best there is. This Starrett is $10 less from Dynamite Tool.

C
Old August 12, 2012, 01:07 PM   #3
Ozzieman

RCBS makes a very nice dial unit at 50$. Comes with a nice case and has remained very reliable. 0 is always 0 and using a feeler gage accurate. I have been using mine for over 25 years.

http://www.midwayusa.com/find?newcat...nsionid=12793&

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/630...tainless-steel
Old August 12, 2012, 01:08 PM   #4
p5200

Thanks for the tip, I'll check out Dynamite Tool!
Old August 12, 2012, 01:22 PM   #5
tkglazie

Better how? If yours are working fine why replace them? If you have extra money lying around and want to upgrade your reloading tools a good 0-1" outside micrometer or set of 1/8"-1/2" bore gauges would be a better purchase than upgrading a functional set of calipers, in my opinion.
Old August 12, 2012, 01:22 PM   #6
jwrowland77

I personally like the digital calipers but each person is unique and have their preferences.
Old August 12, 2012, 01:24 PM   #7
Creeper

If you want to spend the extra coin, There's a Mitutoyo "absolute" digital 6" on sale here for $105.

Cheers,
C
Old August 12, 2012, 01:38 PM   #8
jwrowland77

You can actually find a good pair of digitals at a local big box hardware store. That's where I got mine and actually for a decent price. I believe they were less than $50 and easy to read.
Old August 12, 2012, 02:13 PM   #9
jcwit