The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old September 7, 1999, 12:22 AM   #1
JJCII

I am new to elk hunting and somewhat new to big game hunting. I live in Colorado and am considering going on an elk hunt this year. I am planning on purchasing a new rifle for the season and have been confused by a myriad of magazine articles concerning rifle cartridge minimums for elk. What is a good beginer's Elk cartridge for shots taken within 200 yards or so?

Thanks in advance.
Old September 7, 1999, 04:59 AM   #2
Long Path

Speaking from hearsay, as I've never shot one myself, but have hunted them and researced the topic--

.300 Win Mag is HIGHLY favored by guides for their clients. Likewise .338 Win Mag. However, a .30-06 with a good 180 grain bullet will do the job just fine-- you just don't have as much room for error.
Old September 7, 1999, 05:12 PM   #3
Paul B.

JJ. A wise man once said, "You can never go wrong with a 30-06." Gee. What did all these hunters use before all these hotshot magnums came into being? How about 30-30's,30-40 Krags and the good old 30-06. Oh there were other rounds available. The 45-70 and 45-90 were still popularat the time. Sheldon collected just about all species of American big game with a 6.5 Mannlicher-schoennur, a round not much more powerful that the 30-30. he used trhe 165 gr. bullet at about 2300 FPS. The old 7x57 Mauser with 175 gr. bullets was good too.
If you are relatively new to shooting, I would not recommend anything heavier than the "06" with a good 180 gr. bullet. Ammo can be found anywhere. If I were to want a heavier round, I'd look at a .35 Whelan with the 250 gr. bullet. It'd be good to about 250 yards or so. There is always the .338 magnum, if you are not recoil shy.
Tell you what. let us know what your shooting experience is. What is the largest gun you've shot? Did the recoil bother you? You know? Stuff like that.
Paul B.
Old September 7, 1999, 06:21 PM   #4
Mendocino