The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old April 2, 2006, 07:34 PM   #1
patrickd

ball or bullets for 1858 revolver

Hi,
I'm new to percussian revovers and want to try a different bullet other than round balls. What type of bullet can I shoot? And how heavy of a charge of fffg?
Old April 3, 2006, 12:36 AM   #2
Weird Guy

There are conical bullets available on the market.

As for max powder charge it usually is around 35 to 40 grains of powder. However, accuracy suffers usually if you want to go maximum on the powder charge. For some reason the powder charge of just 22 grains seems to be the most common load that gets the best accuracy for revolvers.
Old April 3, 2006, 05:00 AM   #3
Low Key

Accuracy is very individual with some of these revolvers, I've heard 20 or 22gr gets the best accuracy for some people such as WG and I have no doubts about that. The 2 of mine that I shoot the most, (5.5 in barrel and 8in barrel 1858 remingtons) like everything from 25gr all the way to 40gr and I'm convinced that either of them is capable of putting 6 shots in one hole, if the operator could hold steady on the target.
Old April 7, 2006, 11:40 PM   #4
Mike Weber