The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 31, 2008, 01:44 PM   #1
HorseshoerJT

Misfires

HELP. O.K. I have been reloading for over35 years. Never had this happen. Got my new T.C. back. 30/30 from Bullberry. This gun shoot's factory ammo every time. When trying to shoot my reload's, I get two out of three misfire's. Not even a spark. Do I have a weak spring? Does'nt make sense to fire factory load's, and not reload's. I have tried Rem. 9 1/2, CCI large rifle, and CCI Mag primer's. Help Help Help Thank you
Old August 31, 2008, 02:46 PM   #2
bear300us

did you try putting them back in an striking them again?If its a light strike they will usally go off the second time you strike them.what kind of primers are they cci,s are known for being a little tuffer.
Old August 31, 2008, 03:07 PM   #3
HorseshoerJT

Misfires

Yes, I tried them three time's. They shot well through my son's rifle. I should also mention tha the empty case's with just a primer, fired every time.
Old August 31, 2008, 04:02 PM   #4
Unclenick
Staff

Three things come to mind right off. Since this gun is single-loading only, neck size only. By using a fireformed cartridge, you will headspace on the shoulder and the taper of the sides, and not the rim. That will guarantee the primer is as close to the firing pin tunnel as it can get, and excess headspace won't let the cartridge absorb the firing pin strike by moving forward. In the standard TC and Encore actions, the hammer blow is not going to be as strong a strike as the firing pin in a bolt gun, so you want all the help you can give it.