The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 29, 2010, 12:44 PM   #1
crazyypilot

Need 45ACP reloading help

I got a kimber 1911 45ACP not to long ago and am looking at reloading I've been looking at the kits and there mostly workbench mounted at the momment I can't mount to a workbench so I am looking at handloading I'm new to reloading and wonder what kit to get and what I will need and price
Old March 29, 2010, 12:49 PM   #2
WillyBow8

Portable Loading Bench

I don't have one but have seen them, maybe at MidwayUSA. It looks like they allow you to mount at least a single stage loader and you can set up anywhere.
Old March 29, 2010, 12:58 PM   #3
BigJimP

You can mount most any loader to a 2" X 18" plank ....and then clamp the plank firmly to a portable work bench ( like the old WorkMate bench ).... or even to a couple of sawhorses.

I did that for years when I lived in apt's / before I moved into a house with a shop area.

Mount the loader to a bench / when you're done running your ammo - dump the powder back into a container, cleanup everything - and put a big pillow case over the loader ( put the loader up on a shelf out of the way). I did it years ago with a Dillon SDB loader ( but it could be done with a Dillon 550 or even a 650 )....as an example.
Old March 29, 2010, 01:02 PM   #4
rwilson452

reloading stand

Check this out at Midwayusa

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct...tNumber=155024
Old March 29, 2010, 01:08 PM   #5
spacecoast

Try the Lee Hand Press