The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 19, 2006, 09:18 AM   #1
d94jonca

handloads exceed max OAL - safety issue?

hi all,

ive been handloading for economy for several years, but have lately started to see what i can do to improve accuracy as well. after having read an article on this subject, i created a batch of cartridges where the bullet is seated "shallowly" so as to have the bullet almost touch the lands when the cartridge is chambered.

the cartridges chambers easily (and their oal does not change in this process) but they definitely look funny, with the crimp groves being some 4 mm (ca .16 inch) above the edge of the case.

however, what does concern me is that the OAL of these loads exceed the maximum OAL as specified in my reloading manual. do you guys know if there are any safety issues with this, or if the maximum OAL is only there to make sure the cartridge will fit in standard magazines, cycle properly etc?

btw its a rem 700 adl chambered in 7mm rem mag, the bullet in question is a 154 gr hornady sst.

thanks!
Old June 19, 2006, 10:16 AM   #2
918v

If you seat the bullet deeper, you will reuce case volume and increase pressure. If you seat the bullet long, you will increase case volume and decrease pressure. Reloading manuals warn about seating too shallow to avoid creating an excessive pressure situation. Don't worry about seating long.
Old June 19, 2006, 11:06 AM   #3
Unclenick
Staff