The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old May 23, 2010, 03:56 AM   #1
timothy75

pre ww2 surplus rifles

I'm new to mil surplus rifles and was wondering what models would have been most popular in america before ww2 in both sporterized and original configuration. Say something a farmer in the 20's or 30's might buy as an all around gun. Thanks
Old May 23, 2010, 07:42 AM   #2
10-96

Well that's an inneresting ponderment. Leaving alone the question of what was imported and such at that time, I would surmise possibly Martini-Henry's, .30-40 Krags, Ross's, maybe a Lee-Navy or two, 1888 Commission Rifles (Mausers), maybe various 1895 Small Ring Mausers in 7x57, 6.5x55, ??. I guess there could have been some of those Swiss Vetterli's (sp). Oh, and I guess .45-70 Trapdoors/Springfields wouldn't have been unheard of and too out of date. Now the question of what ammo was available...?

I suspect a thing or two... because I've seen a thing or two.
Old May 23, 2010, 10:31 AM   #3
simonkenton

That is a question I would love to get the answer to.
To be exact, my grandfather and great grandfather were farmers in Mina, South Dakota in the 1920s and 1930s.
I would love to see what guns were hanging on the walls of the old farm house 80 years ago.

I would imagine that the Krag was popular. The Army made a million of them, in the 1890s, but by 1903 the Krag was phased out in favor of the Springfield.
So you had a million well built, accurate and powerful modern rifles, brand new, that went out on the surplus market.
Old May 23, 2010, 11:04 AM   #4
Jim Watson

At one time, trapdoor Springfields sold for as little as $1.50 and black powder surplus ammunition was cheap. The Krag was available from the NRA for $7.50 and sales were so good that Benecia Armory set up to shorten rifles to carbine length because they were more popular.