The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 17, 2008, 06:42 AM   #1
tkcomer

Lee Pacesetter Die Set

Anybody familiar with these dies? I have the 44 mag set and bought some oversized (.431) cast bullets for my Puma levergun, as the barrel seems slightly oversized. I figured I couldn't use the Factory Crimp Die as it post sizes the round. I was right, couldn't even fit a round in that die. So I figured I'd use the other die to seat and crimp. No go. Is this a seat die only? The die will push the bullet into the case before any crimp can occur. Or is the oversize bullet the culprit again? Of course it's Sunday and I doubt that there would be anybody to answer the phone at Lee, so I'd thought I'd check in here first.
Old February 17, 2008, 10:47 AM   #2
blackhawk45

I'm no expert, but I do load 44Mags,for my Mod.94 Win. 44Mag bullets are,
.429" and .430" , I would say your .431" bullets are oversized. JMO. Try crimping an empty case,with no bullet, in your seater die,to see if you can get a roll,or taper crimp. If that does'nt work ,then you will have to use .429" or .430" bullets. P.S. Lee Dies are as good as any others. I use Hornady,Lee,RCBS, and Lyman dies and can see no difference, they all load Quality ammo.
Old February 17, 2008, 11:14 AM   #3
tkcomer