The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 29, 2002, 02:46 PM   #1

Reloading .300 Win. Mag.

Hey all, I'm a newbie to reloading and I've got a couple of questions reguarding this.

First of all, what is the length you should trim the case to? My caliper papers say to trim it to 2.610, while it seems that others use 2.620 (the maximum overall length)-which is right? And with my particular bullet (150 gr. Speer spitzer soft point) they seat it at 3.330 while it seems common to seat (with bullets of this caliber and weight) at 3.340-which is right? Also, how close must you be to these measurements? I trimmed my cases about .003" short and seated my bullets about .005" shorter than what they seated them at-is this close enough?

And finally, I would like a load (with my 150 gr. Speer and my IMR 4350) that is not hot, but is along the lines of a .300 win.'s power. My current load is 69.0 grs. of IMR 4350 behind the 150 Speer, and I would like something with a bit more oomph-as this is only 30-06 power.

Any responce is GREATLY appreciated.-Ben
Old March 29, 2002, 06:07 PM   #2
sricciardelli

http://stevespages.com/page8.htm

Last edited by Johnny Guest; April 1, 2002 at 12:12 AM.
Old March 29, 2002, 11:55 PM   #3
ms1200